• Tuesday 7th April 2020

Interesting election race among heavyweights

  • Published on: November 19, 2017

  • By Our Reporter

    When the first phase of elections  in  37 constituencies of  32 districts are just one and a half weeks away, people have started guessing the fate of the heavyweights who are contesting the elections from the same constituency.

    Surely, many of the heavyweights of the major parties are likely to face defeat. Only one between Mohan Bahadur Basnet, the sitting Minister for Information and Communications, and former minister Agni Sapkota will make to the House of Representatives. Both of them are contesting polls from Sindupalchowk-2.

    The toughest competition is probably in Gorkha where the two former vice chairmen of the CPN Maoist are contesting the polls. Baburam Bhattarai of the Naya Shakti who is backed by the NC and Narayankaji Shrestha of the CPN-Maoist Centre backed by the UML are in the race in Gorkha-2. No one can predict who will not be in the parliament this time as the competition between them is very tough.

    Likewise, chairman of RPP (Democratic) Pashupati Shumsher Rana is contesting polls from Sindupalchowk-2 where he faced defeats twice. It is not sure who will be the victorious between Rana and his rival Sher Bahadur Tamang of the left front.

    NC heavyweights Dr Ram Sharan Mahat, Arjun Narasingh KC have been trying to produce victory in Nuwakot.

    Likewise, the voters in Okhadhunga are not sure which of their leaders—Ram Hari Khatiwada of NC and Yagya Sunuwar of UML will win.

    The fate of Bal Bahadur KC in Solukhumbu and Bhishma Angdembe in Panchthar is still uncertain.

    Likewise, in the second phase polls scheduled for December 10, former NC general secretary Bimalendra Nidhi and RJP-N leader Rajendra Mahato will be having the toughest competition to make to the House of Representatives as they are contesting the polls from Dhanusha-3.

    Likewise, one between Dr Shekhar Koirala of NC and UML’s Lal Babu Pundit will fail to reach the parliament as they are candidates from the same constituency in Morang-6. Probably, Dr. Koirala and Pandit will be having the tough competition after Nidhi and Mahato.

    Similarly, NC general secretary Dr Shasank Koirala and Hridayesh Tripathi in Nawalparasi will be having tough competition.

    Even CPN Maoist-Centre Pushpa Kamal Dahal is not feeling secure in Chitwan-3. Minister Badri Pande of RPP is posing challenge to Dahal. A local, Pande is likely to prevent Dahal from reaching the Parliament this time.

    Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba’s wife Arzu Rana and  Krishna Prasad Sitaula of NC are not sure about their victory. Sitaula is likely to taste a defeat from RPP’s Rajendra Lingden in Jhapa-3.

    Similarly, Surendra Karki of the Maoist-Centre in Jhapa-1, Jhakku Subedi in Kathmandu and Pampha Bhusal in Lalitpur are also not secured.

    Pradeep Gyawali, Gokarna Bista and even Madhav Nepal of the CPN-UML do not look sure about their victory. However, the people have to wait about a month to know the fate of the heavyweight candidates.


    Related Posts

    © copyright 2019 and all right reserved to People's Review | Site By : SobizTrend Technology